Sunday, February 18, 2007

International phonetic alphabet

The IPA is a system to provide a standarized, unique and accurate way to represent the sounds of any spoken language. It is contains 107 base symbols and 55 modifiers.
The symbols are divided into three cathegories:
  • letters, which indicate basic sounds. They further divide into vowels and consonants.
  • diacritics, which further specify those sounds.
  • suprasegmentals, which indicate such quealities as speed, tone and stress
IPA is meant to represent only those qualities of speech that are relevant to language itself.

IPA is also the acronym for International Phonetic Association. So, IPA provides the IPA.

You can type these characters by going here or here. You can listen to it here. Fonts can be found here.

No comments: